Page 2 of 3

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (Beta Design)

Posted: 30 Oct 2017, 17:57
by mdk_813
@22Alpha

The problem with a plugin that only builds on water is that there probably won't be a visible connection to the shore line. The endsections of a dam should sit on land, though, otherwise it would look as if the water could simply flow around it, which would render the dam rather useless ;)

Maybe there is a way to make a plugin that can be build partially on land and partially on water. But I don't know if and how that would be possible.

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (Beta Design)

Posted: 30 Oct 2017, 19:50
by CommanderABab
I've got a small power plant on water 1x1. You just need a road on the shoreline to transmit the electricity. :) It's up to the player to do this!

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (Beta Design)

Posted: 31 Oct 2017, 01:31
by 22Alpha
@mdk_813
@CommanderABab

I only have a theory right now. I haven't tried if graphics would still work properly if, putting grass or road beyond the 6x6 platform would cover up the passing water but keeping the width and height on 6.

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (Beta Design)

Posted: 31 Oct 2017, 03:06
by 22Alpha
I tried my theory, it didn't work on covering fully the water, BUT, it will only leave a 1x line of pixel of water that would pass through, a very small line. Either The power plant would need road or need land if you guys really want to cover that small gap.

Maybe we should make it as a poll on which would be a better fit.

Oh wait!!! I have an idea for those who does not want to see paved roads, asphalt roads beside the dam. @Josh 's Campsite plugin has a grassy road when you download it. You guys can probably put that road if you do not like visible roads beside the power plant!


BTW, I made a poll, please vote. This is to determine which would be a better fit for the game through the majority of the players who voted.

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (Beta Design)

Posted: 31 Oct 2017, 03:50
by mdk_813
I voted for the first option. This would be ideal.
However, if this is not possible, you should resort to building it on a 6x6 patch of land and simulating a 4x4-water stream with your ground texture. You could use the pictures I uploaded a couple of days ago for orientation.

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (Beta Design)

Posted: 31 Oct 2017, 03:54
by 22Alpha
mdk_813 wrote:
31 Oct 2017, 03:50
I voted for the first option. This would be ideal.
However, if this is not possible, you should resort to building it on a 6x6 patch of land and simulating a 4x4-water stream with your ground texture. You could use the pictures I uploaded a couple of days ago for orientation.
The options are 3 now, and the simulation of the stream would probably through "draw ground" as far as understanding it through KoalaGuy's explanation. But we'll see how the poll goes. Thank you very much for your help and suggestions!

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (Beta Design)

Posted: 31 Oct 2017, 04:10
by mdk_813
22Alpha wrote:
31 Oct 2017, 03:54
mdk_813 wrote:
31 Oct 2017, 03:50
I voted for the first option. This would be ideal.
However, if this is not possible, you should resort to building it on a 6x6 patch of land and simulating a 4x4-water stream with your ground texture. You could use the pictures I uploaded a couple of days ago for orientation.
The options are 3 now, and the simulation of the stream would probably through "draw ground" as far as understanding it through KoalaGuy's explanation. But we'll see how the poll goes. Thank you very much for your help and suggestions!
I'm not sure, if you understand what I mean.
The alternative option I'm talking about, would be to make it a land-building. In that case, "draw ground" would not show water then but grass.
So, to have it look like water, you would have to add the water texture (and shoreline texture) yourself. The "draw ground" setting would still be needed, though, to prevent the ingame seawalls from being built. The player could then put water infront and behind the dam to make it look like a continous stream.

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (Beta Design)

Posted: 31 Oct 2017, 04:19
by 22Alpha
mdk_813 wrote:
31 Oct 2017, 04:10
22Alpha wrote:
31 Oct 2017, 03:54
mdk_813 wrote:
31 Oct 2017, 03:50
I voted for the first option. This would be ideal.
However, if this is not possible, you should resort to building it on a 6x6 patch of land and simulating a 4x4-water stream with your ground texture. You could use the pictures I uploaded a couple of days ago for orientation.
The options are 3 now, and the simulation of the stream would probably through "draw ground" as far as understanding it through KoalaGuy's explanation. But we'll see how the poll goes. Thank you very much for your help and suggestions!
I'm not sure, if you understand what I mean.
The alternative option I'm talking about, would be to make it a land-building. In that case, "draw ground" would not show water then but grass.
So, to have it look like water, you would have to add the water texture (and shoreline texture) yourself. The "draw ground" setting would still be needed, though, to prevent the ingame seawalls from being built. The player could then put water infront and behind the dam to make it look like a continous stream.
Ohh! Now I get it! That's the tricky part of draw ground hahaha

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (Beta Design)

Posted: 31 Oct 2017, 04:27
by mdk_813
Well "draw ground" means that the game's ground will show through. And this ground can be grass for land-tiles and water for water-tiles.

What I mean would probably look like this. I just did this in Photoshop, so I didn't test it in the game.

But still, option No. 1, to build it partially on land and on water, would be the better way (if this is possible)
Dam_positioning.png
Dam_positioning.png (211.67 KiB) Viewed 5648 times
Dam_with_water_texture.png
Dam_with_water_texture.png (34.25 KiB) Viewed 5648 times
stream_texture_A.png
stream_texture_A.png (37.68 KiB) Viewed 5645 times
stream_texture_B.png
stream_texture_B.png (37.5 KiB) Viewed 5645 times

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (Beta Design)

Posted: 31 Oct 2017, 04:46
by 22Alpha
@mdk_813 well I really do hope that's possible, it looks neat! BTW the water at the back of the plant ends at 6x6 not 4x4 just like what is shown on the picture. The flow comes from 6x6, then releases it to 4x4. The sea barrier walls would help to have a dam-like illusion or perspective.

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant - Process Update (Preview)

Posted: 31 Oct 2017, 07:09
by 22Alpha
Okay. Right now the power plant looks like this:
Screenshot_2017-10-31-12-52-27.png
With a code of this:

Code: Select all

[
 {
  "id":"hydroelectric power plant",
  "height":6,
  "width":6,
  "type":"energy",
  "needs water":false,
  "needs land":true,
  "needs road":false,
  "frames":
[{"bmp":"trial.png"}],
  "power":1250,
  "water":0,
  "title":"trial hydro",
  "text":"trial hyfdro.",
  "price":6650,
  "monthly price":4250
 }
]
What do you guys think and on what direction should I move this project into?


@mdk_813 I'm also considering your suggestion. I've seen water texture. I'll experiment on it and see if it would fit and be possible, just like you said. Thank you!

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (Released)

Posted: 31 Oct 2017, 13:06
by 22Alpha
It is now ready to download. Thank you!

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (Released)

Posted: 31 Oct 2017, 13:33
by mdk_813
22Alpha wrote:
31 Oct 2017, 13:06
It is now ready to download. Thank you!
Good job! It looks quite nice. :D

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (Released)

Posted: 31 Oct 2017, 15:45
by 22Alpha
mdk_813 wrote:
31 Oct 2017, 13:33
22Alpha wrote:
31 Oct 2017, 13:06
It is now ready to download. Thank you!
Good job! It looks quite nice. :D
Thanks! Wait for my Power System Plugin. It will be out in an hour I think.

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (1.1)

Posted: 02 Nov 2017, 06:13
by 22Alpha
Updated to 1.1 (variations)

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (1.1)

Posted: 13 Nov 2017, 15:29
by Luigi
Can someone make like a fake dam like the sunken highways, im trying to reenact hoover dam

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (1.1)

Posted: 13 Nov 2017, 15:30
by Luigi
With a road access

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (1.1)

Posted: 13 Nov 2017, 15:54
by 22Alpha
Luigi wrote:
13 Nov 2017, 15:30
With a road access
It was already finalized, and arrived with both land and water for more flexibility on establishing it. Check out the latest part here: http://www.theotown.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=4852

Most of the time, the updates go there. So might as well try it out.
:bc

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (1.1)

Posted: 15 Nov 2017, 07:45
by JustAnyone
22Alpha wrote:
02 Nov 2017, 06:13
Updated to 1.1 (variations)
Do I need bear science lab separate?

Re: Hydroelectric Power Plant (1.1)

Posted: 15 Nov 2017, 07:50
by 22Alpha
@JustAnyone , this is just for reference now. The updated version is in this thread: http://www.theotown.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=4852

That plugin won't need a science lab else where because I made one instead through default plugins.